

Media Release

ACT Fire & Rescue (ACTF&R) Internal Awards presented

Number	2018 - 001	Status	Immediate release	Date	Wednesday 11 April 2018

Last night ACT Fire & Rescue recognised 45 members for their dedication to protecting the Canberra community.

"I was very proud to attend these awards to honour ACT Fire & Rescue members who provide crucial and often life-saving services to the ACT community," ESA Commissioner Dominic Lane said.

"I acknowledge and thank the families, partners and loved ones of the medal recipients for their continued support and the sacrifices they have made in allowing the award nominees to serve our community," he said.

One member, Mr Jeff Southwell, received his medal clasp for 40 years of service, and Commander Jason Jones received a Chief Officer's Meritorious Service Medal.

As well as these outstanding contributions members were recognised for their length of service and good conduct to ACTF&R.

- 19 members received a 30-year long service and good conduct clasp
- 21 members received a 20-year long service and good conduct clasp
- Three members received a 10-year long service and good conduct clasp.

The awards were presented during a special ceremony at the ACT Fire Museum in Forrest.

A list of recipients follows on pages 2 and 3

GPO Box 158, Canberra, ACT 2601 **Phone** (02) 6205 0400

List of recipients

40 Years of Service Jeff Southwell

30 Years of Service - College 16 and 17 Mark Baulman **Glenn Cargill Greg Harmey** Paul Ingram Greg Mason Dave Moore Chris Newman Col O'Rourke Frayne Prichard Wayne Shaw Russell Streatfeild Chris Zeitlhofer Danny Reedy Pat Jones Gavin Kennedy Russell Cameron Eric Kyprianou Peter Lord Barry McMillian 20 Years of Service Steve Perry Mick Burns Scott Mackenzie Paul Thorpe Brendan Crosbie Bruce Rodway Chris Lind Gerald Muhldorff Bill McTernan Michael Blumenfeld Mick Comerford Adam Dominick Ken Eccles Matthew Mavity James Meli Paul Flynn Paul McLucas

Matt Shonk Ged Morrison Sean Morton

Mark Simpson

Simon Fensom

<u>10 years of Service to the Historical Society</u> Ron Hourigan Noel Bissett Lee Summerfield

Meritorious Service Jason Jones

Statement ends.